Journey to becoming an Archivist/Preservationist

Interesting post to address

To anyone out there that actually reads this blog while it is more of a tool for me to document my projects and daily activities I came across a post on the Hack Library School blog. I thought it would be good to share for any one who has, is working on, or is think about getting and MLIS and there is an interesting discussion that is going on in the comments section. So I invite you to check it out if you haven’t already.

Not much is new as of yesterday although I did start a new project at work we had a “friend” of the library who decided to drop off a buch of books that she wants to either donate to us or sell. Typically we would never do something like this and we would refer her to an appraiser but she took us by surprise and just dropped everything off. Since I am helping out at the reference desk taking extra shifts it does actually allow me to be able to go through and work on acquisitioning the books.  So far I have not found anything of much value although there is  one miniature book of Burns Scottish Songs and we have a large Burns collection in our Scottish Literature collection so I would be surprised if we didn’t request that book, but it definitely and interesting project :)

As for my internship I got all the scan images figured out and in order. Most of all of them are renamed I just have one more folder of scans to go through and then I will be working on cropping the scan images, batching the files and creating jpg files and then starting work on the website!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

