Journey to becoming an Archivist/Preservationist

Snow Day

I know it has been a while since I have been on here and made an actual blog post. These past few weeks have been quite busy for me. One I am still looking for another part time and I have started volunteering at INALJ.com I have taken on a head editor position which is a five day a week job. I hope everyone had a good MLK Jr day yesterday and was able to take time to reflect on MLK Jr’s message. I was listening to one of the show I am working on at work and they gave a statistic of about 80 something % of American’s have never heard the entire “I Have a Dream Speech”.  I hope that too many of you are not affected by this weather. I called out last night due to the storm for today and it is a good thing that I did because the train is not operating today! I do plan at being back at work tomorrow and for the rest of the week.

Work has been going pretty well. There are two more archivist that they have hired, but they aren’t working just yet. I finished one show and am working on another so I just have the new shows to update everyday and then the backlogs of the other shows. It has been decided that we will each be working on a channel at a time. We also have a new boss to report to. He works near us and we have dealt with him before but now he is who we will be reporting to since our other boss will be going to New York a lot more now and is pretty difficult to track down. The new boss has been pretty good so far he hasn’t gotten all of our technical issues dealt with and he checks in with everyday which is nice. Our other boss is always so busy that he doesn’t have a lot of time to check in, but he had been checking our work. He just hadn’t felt the need to say anything because he felt we were doing a good job.  We had a meeting thought with the old boss, new boss, and the librarian on the change over and what we are doing which is when we asked how our archive is looking and we were told they had been looking at it they just hadn’t said anything.

Recently I have been spending time redoing my resume and creating a new cover letter for jobs. I will be attending an event in February at the Newseum which I am looking forward to and I am planning on going to the SAA conference in DC hopefully. In the next few weeks I hope to be adding new resources to the site for resumes and interviews and a few new other pages. I have also created a pintrest page for the site to give visual ideas for interview apparel, interview tips and other career advice!

That is all that I have to update on for now. Until next time try to stay warm!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

