Journey to becoming an Archivist/Preservationist

Way overdue post!

Well this has been a long time coming! I seem to have neglected the blog with all that I have going on in my life. I have my one part-time position and have been applying to a bunch of other positions. I have had 2 interviews both for a second part-time job. I know one of them I did not get, but I am still waiting on the other one! I actually attempted to volunteer at the Special Library and the director contacted me and told me they had a part-time position available that I would qualify for. It was a bit intense of  an interview for me, but it is great practice for bigger interviews. It included a 3 person panel with the Director of the Library, the Curator of Manuscripts and Archives and the President of the Library Board. I also had to do a 5-10 minute presentation on a subject of my choosing. I will give more info about this in another post. It has been  2 weeks since I interviewed, but that also includes the Thanksgiving holiday so I’m hoping that I will at least get a second interview or even better the job. I love the facility and the Library is 18 minutes from my house and in my community. It also puts me back in a Special Library which more so in my field that what I’m current;y doing despite my job title. More news to come on INALJ and other things I have going on!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

